Children

Upcoming Events

  • Monday, June 11, 1:00 pm

    Join us for a fun-filled presentation by world champion Yo-Yoer Mark Hayward. Get ready to laugh and be wowed by Mark’s unique blend of comedy and yo-yo activities. Yo-yos will be available for sale after the show for $5 and $15 dollars.

  • Tuesday, June 12, 10:15 am
    Wednesday, June 13, 10:15 am
    Tuesday, June 19, 10:15 am
    Wednesday, June 20, 10:15 am
    Tuesday, June 26, 10:15 am
    Wednesday, June 27, 10:15 am
    Tuesday, July 3, 10:15 am
    Tuesday, July 10, 10:15 am
    Wednesday, July 11, 10:15 am
    Tuesday, July 17, 10:15 am
    Wednesday, July 18, 10:15 am
    Tuesday, July 24, 10:15 am
    Wednesday, July 25, 10:15 am
    Tuesday, July 31, 10:15 am
    Wednesday, August 1, 10:15 am

    Geared towards ages birth-6 and their caregiver.

  • Wednesday, June 13, 1:00 pm
    Wednesday, June 20, 1:00 pm
    Wednesday, June 27, 1:00 pm
    Wednesday, July 4, 1:00 pm
    Wednesday, July 11, 1:00 pm
    Wednesday, July 18, 1:00 pm
    Wednesday, July 25, 1:00 pm

    Build your reading confidence. Sign up to read to Murphy the Dog! Each session is 15 minutes. Participants may sign up for one 15 minute session per week. Call 608-437-5021 to register. 

  • Thursday, June 14, 10:15 am
    Thursday, June 21, 10:15 am
    Thursday, June 28, 10:15 am
    Thursday, July 5, 10:15 am
    Thursday, July 12, 10:15 am
    Thursday, July 19, 10:15 am
    Thursday, July 26, 10:15 am

    Songs and dance geared towrds children age birth-3.

  • Friday, June 15, 9:45 am
    Friday, June 22, 9:45 am
    Friday, June 29, 9:45 am
    Friday, July 6, 9:45 am
    Friday, July 13, 9:45 am
    Friday, July 20, 9:45 am
    Friday, July 27, 9:45 am
    Friday, August 3, 9:45 am

    Srorytime geared towards children age birth-2.

  • Friday, June 15, 10:30 am
    Friday, June 22, 10:30 am
    Friday, June 29, 10:30 am
    Friday, July 6, 10:30 am
    Friday, July 13, 10:30 am
    Friday, July 20, 10:30 am
    Friday, July 27, 10:30 am
    Friday, August 3, 10:30 am

    Srorytime geared towards children age 2-3.

  • Monday, June 18, 1:00 pm
    Monday, July 2, 1:00 pm
    Monday, July 9, 1:00 pm
    Monday, July 23, 1:00 pm

    A hands on creation day. Each week will have a different project.
    For ages 7-12
    Space is limited. Call 608.437.5021 to register.

  • Thursday, June 21, 1:00 pm
    Thursday, July 26, 1:00 pm

    Come view a popular book brought to life on the big screen! Check out and read the book ahead of time to compare the book to the movie. Snacks will be provided. 

  • Monday, June 25, 1:00 pm
    Monday, July 16, 1:00 pm
    Monday, July 30, 1:00 pm

    Each session will explore apps and equipment designed to teach beginner coding.
    For ages 7-12

    Space is limited. Call 608.437.5021 to register.

  • Wednesday, June 27, 1:45 pm

    Bring your creativity to the library but leave your Legos at home. The Library will provide the Legos. This is a free build day where you can use your imagination to build.  Ages 5-12.

  • Thursday, July 12, 1:00 pm

    Come get crafty and create instruments out of recycled materials. Projects for children of all ages will be provided. Registration required.

  • Thursday, July 19, 10:15 am

    Join Musician Corey Hart for a special music session featuring sing-along songs and instruments.

  • Thursday, August 2, 1:00 pm

    Traveling Lantern Theatre Company is back by popular demand! This year they bring us: "The Life of Mozart," a frolicsome, gleeful and historically accurate play about one of the greatest geniuses who ever lived.

Osmo

Kids will love learning all kinds of skills with these interactive gaming and learning systems. Whether it's coding, money skills, or drawing Osmo makes learning fun!

What is Osmo?
Osmo is an interactive gaming system that encourages kids to learn via play through a combination of physical play pieces kids hold in their hands and a digital game program that reacts to what the player does in the real world.

*Ask to check out one of three available Osmo systems at the circulation desk. (Osmo systems are available for in-library use only.)

Get more information

Childcare Information for Mount Horeb

1000 Books Before Kindergarten!

1000 books before kindergarten

Do you read to your child? Join our 1000 Books Before Kindergarten challenge! Stop by the library and sign up today! Those who complete the program will have the satisfaction of spending quality time with your child, aiding in early literacy development, and receiving a small prize from MHPL!

Questions? Contact Amy at (608) 437-5021 ext. 104 or amy.kalchik@mounthorebwi.info